Julia Rhode (*1977) is a german double bass player.

Besides playing orchestral, chamber music and solo repertoires, she also composes music.

Julia began playing the double bass at the age of thirteen and studied music performance at Folkwang University of the Arts in Essen under Prof. Niek de Groot (former solobassist of the Royal Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam). She participated in masterclasses with Wolfgang Güttler (former member of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra), Libero Lanzilotta (solobassist at Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, Rome), Albert Brüggen (Baroquecello) as well as Gerhard Darmstadt /Concerto Köln.

Julia was a member of the Dutch Nationaal Jeugd Orkest directed by Philippe Herreweghe and Mark Wigglesworth.

She won a first prize at the italian Associazione Ars Musica Imola.

Julia was honoured to participate in the Lucerne Festival Academy Orchestra (Lucerne, Switzwerland) under Pierre Boulez and, in this context, to work with Cellist

Eric-Maria Coutourier as mentor as well as other musicians of the Ensemble Intercontemporain (Paris).

Finally Julia was graduated with the soloist degree "Konzertexamen" .

After completing her instrumental studies Julia played in several professional Orchestras and Ensembles such as Folkwang Kammerorchester Essen, Philharmonisches Orchester Hagen, Trondheim Symfoniorkester Norway,  Sinfonieorchester Aachen, Aalborg Symfoniorkester Denmark (several years of permanent employment), Ensemble Resonanz Hamburg, Ruhrtriennale, Neue Philharmonie Westfalen, Philharmonie Südwestfalen and Niederrheinische Sinfoniker.

Throughout her orchestral carreer Julia had the honour to work in collaboration with highly esteemed conductors and many distinguished artists as to mention but a few: M.Rostropovich, D.Geringas, D.Müller-Schott, Andreas Brantelid, Baiba Skride, Vilde Frang, Chloe Hanslip, Liv Migdal, Eldbjørg Hemsing, Vadim Gluzman, Kirill Troussov, Lars Anders Tomter, Alessio Bax, Sergio Tiempo, Gerhard Oppitz, Ronald Brautigam, Bruno Leonardo Gelber, Martin Fröst, Francois Leleux, Ariane Matiakh, Mihkel Kütson, Pietari Inkinen, Rumon Gamba, Michael Schønwandt, STING and many others.

© 2024 Julia Rhode